The Alchemical Mandala

July 31, 2008
By Dennis Klocek 1 min read

The charts for the alchemical journey of self transformation often take the form of a mandala or sacred wheel. This is because the sacred journey never ends. It also usually brings you back to where you started but the second time around you know where you have been. The mandala is a dynamic map of the stages of development necessary for transforming ourselves.

The most basic mandala form is the four step diagram known to adepts as the rotation of the elements. There are four stages. Earth (E) is followed by water (W) followed by air (A) followed by fire (F). Then we come back to earth. This pattern follows the laws of nature where earth is on the bottom with water above that and air above that and fire above that.

When an alchemist starts to work on him /herself this beginning stage is known as putting the fire under the earth. When putting the fire under the earth the alchemist is working against the natural order of things or working against nature. To cook a meal is working against nature according to alchemy. To cook my beliefs about myself is to change my unconscious patterns in my life that are not working for me. Changing my unconscious patterns is also a work against nature. In this important work I learn to overcome the things that are holding me back from reaching my goals in life.

Posted in . Tagged ,

Dennis Klocek

Dennis Klocek, MFA, is co-founder of the Coros Institute, an internationally renowned lecturer, and teacher. He is the author of nine books, including the newly released Colors of the Soul; Esoteric Physiology and also Sacred Agriculture: The Alchemy of Biodynamics. He regularly shares his alchemical, spiritual, and scientific insights at

Similar Writings

The Prayerful Warrior

By Dennis Klocek | January 22, 2021
Posted in , , , ,

The developmental signs of advancement in an alchemical soul practice usually involve some sort of healing crisis brought on by a discharge in the soul of accumulated assumptions and belief structures.  Most often these assumptions are not perceived by the student in a conscious way. They arise like dream fragments in the daily life and…

A Periphery / Center Exercise

By Dennis Klocek | January 3, 2011
Posted in , , ,

This exercise can help to develop a sense of the continuity of consciousness across the threshold to the next world. It begins with the inner imagination that we are in our bodies looking out at a starry sky. We imagine that our soul is expanding outwards towards the stars. It is expanding in a circle.…